Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Randing about some 'teachers' online

+8
lololiet
willba
DavidM96
ThreeLetterSyndrom
Dropthelines585
Drakon7
MetalJacob
Nocturnal_Pulse
12 posters

Go down

Randing about some 'teachers' online Empty Randing about some 'teachers' online

Post  Nocturnal_Pulse Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:54 pm

OK you all know that I am a beginner, and ok I like logging in the Tube and find some other vids and courses of ordinary people (I dont mean the vids of Victor Wooten or Patitucci) TRYING to teach the bass.

I came along to one of them today (if you want to know who just sent me a msg I won't write it here) that after 2 vids (the first one was the parts of the bass guitar and the second the plucking tecnique) he runs on the 'how to make a groove' chapter.

Well I suppose if I was like 2 days new to bass I would be very frustrated.

He used the classic neat tecnique with low octave - high octave with a very bad way:

He used the fretboard hand with index finger on the E string 3rd fret and his PINKY on the fifth fret of the very same string. He hammer ons the fifth fret and then moves an octave higher to do the same finger pattern again with the same fingers.

Well excuse me, I play for 9 months now and still I don't have the proper strength or dexterity or flexibility to do it so quickly like he did (i think it was 8th notes). Pinky (to me) is the most difficult finger to practice in general.

And OK, why do you b*tchfesting all along, you would ask? It was a lousy video.

Yeah a lousy video that I found for free in this persons promotion "Beginner Pack" and that it costs 30 bux.