Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Clicking when 3 Finger Strumming and Bass's Action

5 posters

Go down

Clicking when 3 Finger Strumming and Bass's Action Empty Clicking when 3 Finger Strumming and Bass's Action

Post  zsquad Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:26 am

I find that I produce a clicking sound when I finger strum using my index, middle, and ring fingers. While I am sure this is partially due to technique (I have been playing bass for 2 years, and haven't been trying to 3 finger strum that long), I have tried 3 finger strumming on basses with tighter strings and the clicking was nearly eliminated. Would altering my current bass's action affect the tightness of my strings and/or the clicking I make when I 3 finger strum? If not, is there a way I could reduce the clicking noises I make?

zsquad

Back to top Go down

Clicking when 3 Finger Strumming and Bass's Action Empty Re: Clicking when 3 Finger Strumming and Bass's Action

Post  Some freaky guy Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:52 am

This could be youhitting the strings so hard they're touching the pickups, which tends to make this little popping sound. Have you tried being lighter on the strings? That should fix it.
Some freaky guy
Some freaky guy
A resident.
A resident.

Back to top Go down

Clicking when 3 Finger Strumming and Bass's Action Empty Re: Clicking when 3 Finger Strumming and Bass's Action

Post  zsquad Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:29 pm

I have tried that, but I find that as I speed up and try to play at speeds that aren't ridiculously fast but still require 3 fingers to play comfortably I naturally begin to play harder with my fingers

zsquad

Back to top Go down

Post  Stryfer Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:37 pm

Therein lies the challange Smile