Free Bass guitar lessons

Beware the n00b

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Beware the n00b

Post  cerise on Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:35 pm

Hey all! Very Happy

I did a bit of searching around for an 'intro' section but either I couldn't find it or I'm horribly blind (I'm leaning towards the latter).

Been reading through the forum for a while and finally decided to take the plunge and register last night.

I'll hold my hands up high and admit freely that I'm a complete and total newb when it comes to bass and, in fact, most instruments, but for a while now I've had this nagging feeling that I just have to play bass. Not entirely sure where it came from or why but it's persisting so I went ahead and ordered a bunch of gear to get me started a few weeks ago. Had a bit of a 'mare to be honest; everything turned up except the bass. You can imagine the heartbreak - everything else is sitting pretty just begging to be put to good use and there's nothing I can do with any of it! Oh, the tears. Okay, maybe not tears but I was pretty sad! Anyway, cancelled my order with the mean people who kept promising and failing to send me my very pretty (and very pink and sparkly) bass and instead bought an Ibanez SR400QM. I'm expecting delivery of this gorgeous thing on Tuesday, so after the debacle I've had so far I'm hoping, wishing and crossing every available appendage (even those not belonging to me) that it will actually turn up!

Itching to play doesn't even describe what I'm feeling at the moment; the thought of getting my hands on this beauty is making me ridiculously excited and even though I'm fully aware I'm going to suck hardcore for a very long time, the prospect of learning is so incredibly appealing. There's something about a good bass line that just kicks you in the teeth in such a great way...

I'm really looking forward to getting to know you guys and apologies in advance for any ridiculous questions that I'll no doubt be irritating everyone with!