Free Bass guitar lessons

How to fix rattling strings....

View previous topic View next topic Go down

How to fix rattling strings....

Post  blazed0wayz on Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:39 pm

i was wondering if anyone knows how to stop the rattle of my strings with my ibanez gsr200 4 string bass... i just got this bass and when i play it the strings rattle really bad and it is aggravating and i dont know how to make it go away i know the neck has adjustments.. but as i said i never done anything like this so im new to this. if anyone could help me i would appreciate it!

Back to top Go down

Re: How to fix rattling strings....

Post  Protoplm on Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:31 pm

Well, you're going to have to elaborate on what you mean by your strings rattling. You're probably reffering to something known as fret buzz. Where does it buzz exactly? Does it buzz when you're playing a note without a fret? Only when you fret a note on the E string past the 3rd fret? That type of thing.

Before I know this, I can't really give much help concerning your problem.

Back to top Go down

Post  blazed0wayz on Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:35 pm

i get fret buzz on open strings and when i fret a string anywhere on the neck..but it has alot of buzz when i play an open string

Back to top Go down

Post  Protoplm on Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:52 pm

blazed0wayz wrote:i get fret buzz on open strings and when i fret a string anywhere on the neck..but it has alot of buzz when i play an open string

That's kind of weird.. but none the less.

If you have a buzz with open strings, it's probably not your technique unless you're playing obscenely hard.

When you play a string where exactly is it buzzing? It has to be hitting something to cause this ugly sound, look closely as you play a note.

Pick up your bass and look down the neck from the headstock. What kind of bend does it have in it? It can be slightly arched in or out. It can also be perfectly straight.