Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sliding Help?

4 posters

Go down

Sliding Help? Empty Sliding Help?

Post  GusTheBassDog Wed Aug 29, 2012 2:59 pm

Hi everyone! I'm a beginner and have been going through the exercises and basics in the videos on the site. Things have been progressing well, but I came to a problem with a technique that seems like it should be really simple.

In the video for learning to play Come Together, there's a slide on one of the strings from like the 7th fret down to the 12th, or some such. Unfortunately, my bass won't make a sound when I do this. I hit the note on the fret, but the downward slide instantly freezes the string, and it goes dead quiet. I can slide on say fret 3 down to 7...no problem, and it makes a nice slidey sound. But sliding past like the 7th or 8th fret, and the string mutes immediately.

I have an Ibanez SR305DX. and have tried messing with both pickup knobs, as well as the treble and bass knobs on the bass itself(Active pickups), as well as all of the EQ knobs and volume levels on my amp. Nothing helps. In fact, if I simply try to pluck strings while holding frets, like the 10th or 12th on the higher strings, the notes will not ring out. It gives a short, sharp "Plunk" sounding note, then silence.

What do I need to adjust or fix on my bass to get these sounds from the higher numbered frets?
GusTheBassDog
GusTheBassDog

Back to top Go down

Sliding Help? Empty Re: Sliding Help?

Post  ThreeLetterSyndrom Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:31 pm

Higher notes do not sounc, you say? Looks like the strings are muted by the fretboard. Try setting your intonation (you do this by fiddling with the bridge, Google will know how). If that doesn't work, take it to the shop. Because if a bass has good intonation, it should function properly.

ThreeLetterSyndrom