Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Considering bass

+5
Dropthelines585
willba
ThreeLetterSyndrom
SuperMaximo93
Rik
9 posters

Go down

Considering bass Empty Considering bass

Post  Rik Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:40 pm

Hi folks .I stumbled across these forums by checking out youtube while trying to decide which instrument I want to learn ( saw one of the awesome lessons ) . After having played the drums for 30 years I am no longer able to do that due to physical constraints, namely back problems . I'm seriously considering the bass ,because it stays "close to home " - after drums - and you're still part of the rythm section while it's different enough to be interesting .

Mind you: while I won't have any issue with the rythmic component - hopefully - I am a complete newbie when it comes to technique and theoretical stuff ( i.e. reading music ) . I'm contemplating options -provided I do decide to start with the bass- when it comes to a beginner's bass and came across some package deal :

http://en.woodbrass.com/IBANEZ+GSR190J-TR+ELECTRIC+BASS+GUITAR+PACK+-+JUMPSTART+SERIES+-+TRANSPARENT+RED+CHRISTMAS

I have read some reviews on this deal and everyone seems to agree the bass itself is cool but the amp sucks . Anyone have any experience with this particular instrument ?

Any advice would be most welcome ( for newbies ) .

Rik

Back to top Go down

Considering bass Empty Re: Considering bass

Post  SuperMaximo93 Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:18 pm

Hi, welcome to the forum, and (hopefully) welcome to bass! Very Happy Feel free to ask questions and take part in discussion