Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fret hand wrist pain

+4
SuperMaximo93
Garth
Smaz
The Jman
8 posters

Go down

Fret hand wrist pain Empty Fret hand wrist pain

Post  The Jman Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:47 pm

Hello everyone. I'm new to the bass or any instrument for that matter. I'm 28 and decided that I wanted to learn an instrument before I got too old. I always wanted to learn something but never attempted to. I don't wanna be an old man who looks back and regrets never even trying.

So anyway, I started practicing about three weeks ago and everything seems to be going well except for my left wrist (fret hand) position. On most of the internet lessons I've been told to bend the wrist which helps spread my fingers to reach across four frets with four fingers. It's still very difficult for me to do this but if I don't bend my wrist to almost a 90 degree angle than it's nearly impossible. The problem with this is that it's killing my wrist. I always have to cut my practice sessions short because of the pain. By the way I do all the hand and tendon exercises before and after practice.

So my question is.....should I stick with it and maybe my wrist will get use to being in this position? Or should I keep my wrist more straight and only spread my fingers across three frets? Since my hands are average size at best the latter is more comfortable to me but I don't want my progress or potential to be hindered.
The Jman
The Jman

Back to top Go down

Fret hand wrist pain Empty Re: Fret hand wrist pain

Post  Smaz Thu Jul 30, 2009 4:02 pm

Are you playing sitting down or standing up?

If you're standing up, then it may be that your bass is too high or too low, and your wrist has to bend too much in order to reach the frets.