Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Guitar books

4 posters

Go down

Guitar books Empty Guitar books

Post  nixonuk Fri Aug 07, 2009 4:25 pm

Hi all

There is a great music book shope near me but alas its all for guitars very little Bass.

I am a big fan of the Stranglers and picked up an old Stranglers guitar book. It has the chords along the top for instance A D E...can I play these just as root notes and play along?

Boring I know but I am a newbie looking to start playing along with some of my favourite tunes. Is this a good way to learn?

nixonuk

Back to top Go down

Guitar books Empty Re: Guitar books

Post  Fatgoogle Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:31 pm

A good way to learn is any way that makes you a better player.

But yes it is to an extent a good way to learn, i wouldnt say just learning tunes will make you an amazing player though. Why dont you find out what key thew songs are in and improvise a simple line over them, through root notes major/minor scales and pentatonic scales, octaves and 5ths.
I do this with bands i like but basslines are incredibly boring(coughU2cough), and i just improvise what i think is best or even better than the original , but latching in at parts that actually make the song.

Fatgoogle

Back to top Go down

Post  Pastichio Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:29 pm

In answer to your question, yes learning songs is a good way to learn but don't let it be the only way. Scales are important, learning how to follow chords are very important. But to begin with, yea just learn your favourite songs, and try add in the rest as you progress.
Pastichio
Pastichio
A resident.
A resident.

Back to top Go down

Post  nixonuk Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:11 am