Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Presicion Bass VS Jass Bass

Go down

Presicion Bass VS Jass Bass Empty Presicion Bass VS Jass Bass

Post  Nocturnal_Pulse Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:06 pm

Surfing around the net I found this topic which I believe can solve many trouble to beginners (like myself) if they can't tell the diffirence by ear but they still want to play the bass guitar. Hope it's useful Smile

Copy from Worship Guitar Guy

-Jon Chema

Being a musician, I tend to be asked many questions about my hobby. The majority going something like the following… “Is that a guitar your playing?”… “How long have you been playing?”….. “Can you teach me how to play?”…. “How’s your band going?” However, a few months ago, a fellow musican friend asked me a very interesting question. It happened to be the most intelligent one that I have heard over the past few months. The question was simple.. “What is the difference between a Jazz Bass, and a Precision Bass?”

The answer to that question is not a simple one-line response. It is actually quite complex, and I will bet you that the majority of Guitar Center employees could not tell you the difference. Describing something that you hear is normally an impossible task. You can’t quite describe a sound in words. Anyways, I will try my best to give you a little history lesson on the two basses, and then try to explain their distinct sounds.