Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Months of questions bundled into one post.

+3
ThreeLetterSyndrom
MetalJacob
TalkShowHost
7 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Months of questions bundled into one post. Empty Months of questions bundled into one post.

Post  TalkShowHost Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:18 am

This is going to be a very long post, when writing it I felt like I had to explain everything or else you may misinterpret what I'm asking or saying etc.

How do I progress as a bass player? I've been playing for about 15 months now. I usually play everyday, although I've been neglecting it recently. In that 15 months all I've really done is learn a few riffs and songs, I don't really feel like I'm a "bass player". Sure, I can play a few cool riffs, and some songs that seemed impossible when I first picked up a bass, but I don't feel like I really know anything. I certainly don't feel comfortable improvising or attempting to write anything original. I try but, nothing happens. I've only ever had 2 bass lessons, I didn't even attempt to get into music class at college because I just felt like I wasn't good enough, I eventually dropped out of college and I've been thinking of maybe going back and doing Music and Music Tech just because I really like music and I haven't got a job so it'll keep me occupied, but I'm afraid of going and being surrounded by a load of great musicians who are super confident and whip out some awesome Vic Wooten stuff on bass or Tool songs on drums and I'd be sat there playing Hysteria or something to myself in the corner.