Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Muting help

4 posters

Go down

Muting help Empty Muting help

Post  Zephyr Fri May 22, 2009 4:31 am

Hello everyone in the Realm of the Dman.

Well I've been playing for about 3 months now, and I am getting fairly confident in all the basics. But One thing I am struggling with is muting strings. I cant seem to find a decent way of going about it. So if anyone would like to throw some tips my way, or point me to a good place with this info, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!
Zephyr
Zephyr

Back to top Go down

Muting help Empty Re: Muting help

Post  Smaz Fri May 22, 2009 7:12 am

Muting as in how?

Palm muting, so that you're playing slightly muted notes, or muting the strings that you're not playing? A little description of what it is you do & what happens will help us point you in the right way Smile
Smaz
Smaz

Back to top Go down

Post  Protoplm Fri May 22, 2009 12:02 pm

I'm going to assume that you're speaking of actual muting, as opposed to palm muting. The basic idea of muting is very important to get correct on bass. This is due to how chords sound out in a very ugly fasion with a few exceptions. The notes you don't play are more important than the notes you play.

You should mute with both your right hand and left hand.