Free Bass guitar lessons

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Free Bass guitar lessons
Free Bass guitar lessons
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

mute strings and some other stuff

5 posters

Go down

mute strings and some other stuff Empty mute strings and some other stuff

Post  Rik Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:26 pm

My GSR 190 jumpstart set finally arrived the other day and I have started to practice ( slowly at first , 15-20 minute sessions tops ,gradually increasing practice sessions over time and doing hand excercises in between- I work in IT and have seen what RSI does in that capacity and have a natural tendency to be overcautious ) . I do have some questions though :

- how do you mute strings ? ( best practice ) . I have seen some explanations on that in the videos but can't seem to get it right . When you mute a string whilst playing that takes one finger "out of commision" for the muting bit and what if you have to play really complex lines or fast riffs ?
- how do you practice he pinky? I don't have a real issue with all other fingers but when I try to use pink it seems other fingers have tendency to move along with it .
- how do you move up and down fast with thumb of right hand ( plucking technique ) without producing any sound ?

Rik

Back to top Go down

mute strings and some other stuff Empty Re: mute strings and some other stuff

Post  Stryfer Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:05 pm